15 Reasons Why We Love Open Spaces

1. It strips us bare of everything.

Shoes
I surprisingly love to wash my shoes when it’s dirrrrty like this!

2. It requires us to be brave and strong.

with jb
Dark night, strong winds, cold rain, tons of cow (or carabao?) poop, needed to pitch my tent.

3. There is no choice but to allow things to happen to us.

Pico De Loro

4. It teaches us the value of patience and acceptance.

sagada
Strangers turned into friends. I approached Lavern and Marvin (to my right) and 2 more joined us. This is us having breakfast at a family owned restaurant in Sagada Province, Northern Luzon.

5. It’s where everyone is equal and no one is above anyone (except of course those who are skilled and can keep you alive during emergency situations).

fishmen

6. It opens your heart to loving life more.

My friend and I were walking in a garden, eating ice cream, he saw the zipline and pulled me into doing it. #random
My friend and I were walking in a garden, eating ice cream, he saw the zipline and pulled me into doing it. #random

7. It clears your head and puts you back on neutral.

sun

8. The long walks give you enough time to think about literally anything under the sun.

Hiking my first volcano: Mt. Mayon in Albay, one of the provinces in Southern Luzon
Hiking my first volcano: Mt. Mayon in Albay, one of the provinces in Southern Luzon

9. It allows you to appreciate nature even more.

Boatmen in Sorsogon, Philippines, on the lookout for whale sharks
Boatmen in Sorsogon, Philippines, on the lookout for whale sharks

10. The best stories are made and created outdoors.

pulag
Lots of stories were made during this hike to Mt. Pulag. One of the things I won’t forget is having women (moms, sisters, female farmers) as porters!

11. It makes you value interdependency.

laguna
Our young guides leading us into a lake in Laguna

12. There’s nowhere else to go.

maranat

13. You get to use all your senses and you become sharper.

snorkeling
Palawan ❤

14. You become aware of yourself, of what you can and cannot do (which might not be a lot).

lioness
Are you kidding me?

15. You become a better human being as you go on your journey.

Anima
Animal Sanctuary in California
5 thoughts on “15 Reasons Why We Love Open Spaces

      1. Thanks for sharing. I haven’t been to both but would love to see your favorite places in the future! Might just become my fave too. 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

