Songs From Utah

I visited Salt Lake City, Utah, last month. Spent a lot of time outside, made new friends and memories. My observations about this state: There is a sense of calm and quietness as soon as I landed in the airport. You can literally see a mountain range everywhere you turn. The place is simply beautiful.

beautiful Lake Powell
beautiful Lake Powell

To make Utah even more memorable for me, I created a playlist with songs that I listened to, heard and played during my stay there. Sharing these songs with you so you can listen to them too.  I hope you like them and make these songs a part of your playlist! A lot of these are folk and country songs (which I didn’t like before) but this genre grew on me simply because it’s so easy to listen to and I am able to relate to words and music most of the time. It is heartfelt, feels genuine and the perfect background for a nap after a hike. YUMMM!

  1. Caravan by Passenger 
  2. Rocky Mountain High by John Denver 
  3. You Make Me Feel (Like A Natural Woman) by Aretha Franklin 
  4. Layla by Eric Clapton 
  5. Fire and Rain by James Taylor 
  6. Country Road by James Taylor 
  7. I Try by Ben Taylor (if you have not heard this version, check it out now!!) 
  8. Barfly by Ray LaMontagne 
  9. Home Again by Michael Kiwanuka 
  10. God Only Knows by The Beach Boys 
  11. Mama’s Eyes by Justin Townes Earle 
  12. If I Had A Boat by Lyle Lovett 
  13. Please Read The Letter by Robert Plant and Alison Krauss 
  14. Emmylou by First Aid Kit 
  15. Tupelo Honey by Van Morrison 
  16. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes by Crosby, Stills & Nash 
  17. How Deep Is That River by Mason Jennings 
  18. If I Keep My Heart Out of Sight by James Taylor 

Songs make great bookmarks to our lives. We hear a tune and it can easily remind us of a specific moment in the past, trigger positive (or negative) emotions and relive that time again and again.

What song reminds you of YOUR travels?

My mid-September plans have come and gone and I’m glad everything went well. 

5 thoughts on “Songs From Utah

  1. I do my best to attach music to parts of my life because of their great ability to evoke the feelings and memories of that moment. Clean Bandit’s “Rather Be” will always be associated with my decision to go to Thailand. I’ve actually started a monthly series on my blog called “Good Vibes” dedicated to songs that have bound themselves to a memory. Check it out if you haven’t already!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did check it out! Thanks for sending that. Looks like we have different tastes in music lol but it’s always good to explore other genres. Also checking out your other posts on solo travel since I love to do the same. Keep walking!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

