The Story Behind This Photo – Half Dome

I randomly picked a photo from my archive and saw this photo from 2015.

Here is this photo’s story:

12045632_10204521831953512_4918962170692478458_o

 

Couchsurfing.

That’s how Ieva and I met. It was around August when I started planning my Yosemite camping trip through Couchsurfing.com. I got connected to her through Sean, my host in San Francisco. To those who have not heard, Couchsurfing is one of the best things since ice cream. By having access to local homes, solid knowledge of your destination, each trip leaves lasting memories of people and not only places. She joined our camping group and I listened to her stories as we hike our way up to Yosemite Falls.

Ieva is a world traveler. She is from Lithuania and is one of the peeps I met at our Yosemite campground. She is a petite girl like me, quiet, and really smart. She mentioned coming from Alaska as part of her internship, and then wanting to visit Las Vegas, Nevada after California. Right after we parted ways in San Francisco, she went on a flight to the sin city.

Ieva is a bright, brave, young woman with an amazing passion for life and learning. I aspire to be like her. I hope to meet her again one day.

Knowing takes away fear. Experience takes away not knowing. Being present takes away indifference.

 

Leave a Reply

