Throwback: 29th Birthday

I am turning 30 soon! It’s only September but I am now thinking of a fun way to celebrate with friends and family. Last year we were with the children from the GK Community in Taguig City, where I currently live.

They say that doing volunteer or charity work is selfless and selfish. Selfless, because it’s doing work for a cause without expecting anything in return. Selfish, because it makes one feel good about himself, the activity of giving becomes the reward, and I don’t see anything wrong with it. Either way, I think it makes a ripple whether big or small and creates a change somehow.

On my 29th birthday, I had a simple birthday party with children from Gawad-Kalinga Village.

Brgy. Pinagsama, Taguig City
Brgy. Pinagsama, Taguig City

My amazing friends were present and everyone helped with the program, donated school supplies, taught them valuable lessons on health (handwashing c/o Len and Lops) and art (drawing a cat c/o CJ), and gave away prizes from their own pockets (we were giving away Snickers bars from Trish!!). We had a lot of fun playing games, eating pancit, singing songs about germ protection and dancing to praise songs using the smallest boombox ever…

Mic gives a better surround sound =P
Mic gives a better surround sound =P

Through their help, we had a photographer, a guitar player, marshalls, teachers, choreographers! It was a special day for me, seeing the kids and my friends going nuts over each other. And today, I look back. Here are some photos from November 2014 in Brgy. Pinagsama, Taguig City.

Keeping it clean!
Keeping it clean with Dr. Lops and Dra. Len #truelove
Lea and CJ both looking pretty
Lea and CJ both looking pretty
Something's going on here...
Something’s going on here…
This competition was INTENSE!
This competition was INTENSE!
Still intense
Still intense
song
Thanks to Doc Lopao for ‘composing’ and playing the song for us!
The Gang
‘Twas a good day

Thanks to my friend Pinky for taking the photos. 

While working on this blog entry and looking at the photos again, it makes me excited to turn a year older. Yes, I’m old, forgetful and very much like a granny but also still young and there’s a lot more that I can do to make more ripples of change, even small ones. Regardless if there is an occasion or not, we will never lack a reason to celebrate. I hate to say this, but I want to be cheesy now, so….LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Now back to feeling OLD. Kthxbye.

One thought on “Throwback: 29th Birthday

Leave a comment